Indian Macgyver Says, Happy Father’s Day

Remembrance is like a flower in the garden of love…or friendship…well definitely in a garden for sure.

— Rabindranath Tagore (maybe)

© B.Mac' 2015
© B.Mac’ 2015

My father was a very witty man. He’s still alive. It’s just his wit that’s died.

His wit started waining around the same time he started quoting Rabindranath Tagore, well misquoting him anyways.

Turns out the “quote” may be way more figurative than literal, in other words — a lie. Which is ironic because he hates lying. But I love it.

Lying’s fun. In fact, it’s a gift. A gift my father gave me, gave all his children actually, and it’s just one of many.

My father also gave me my first car. Unfortunately, he gave it to my oldest sister first, to my other sister next, and then lastly to another sister before he finally gave it to me.

It’s that generosity of spirit and thrifty nature that inspired my sisters and I to pinch, I mean, pitch together and get him a new car for Father’s Day this year.

Ooh Barracuda
Ooh Barracuda

I can’t explain how good it feels to finally give your father what he really deserves. After all it’s the thought that really counts.

Along with the car, my father taught all of us how to drive. He also taught us how to drink. Just not at the same time.

My father’s simple advice — It’s not what you drink but who you drink with that counts. He’s right, the secret to a good drink is good friends.

So I only bust out the best booze for the best people. But I will bust out my best flask for practically anyone, because it’s just too sweet not to.

The best part of waking of up is whiskey in your flask.
The best part of waking of up is whiskey in your flask.

It also makes for a great last minute Father’s Day gift idea, if you’re in need of one. Father’s Day brunch will be a memorable one or even better, maybe it won’t.

Well, I don’t know if Rabindranath Tagore ever said the earlier quote but he definitely said the following,

It is very simple to be happy, but it is very difficult to be simple.

Dad,
Happy Father’s Day to a very simple man. — I.M.

***

Now I want to know what your father gave you? But, to paraphrase what I said on mother’s day, be sure to tell him first.

Images by I.M.
Illustration by B.Mac’
© Chic Prune 2015


I shared a card on mother’s day so it seems fitting I share another one today.

I found this card by happenstance and couldn’t be any happier with it. It looks cool, has surprisingly original word play for a greeting card, and won’t offend my father’s rather archaic and delicate sense of decorum. Enjoy!

"Where would I be without a father like you? Hell if rhino." © Hallmark Cards
“Where would I be without a father like you? Hell if rhino.” © Hallmark Cards

Happy Father’s Day!

8 thoughts on “Indian Macgyver Says, Happy Father’s Day

  1. The card made me smile. 🙂 Unfortunately my father passed away last year, so I’m finding today quite hard. I’m glad you still have yours. on’t take him for granted. Cherish every moment. That’s the last thing my father taught me, among many things in his life. Life is short. Don’t waste a moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. well i’m glad the card made you smile phoenix and i’m sorry for your loss. i do worry i take my dad for granted at times but then i start doing something he does, like sing annoying rhythm-less melodies for no reason and i suddenly realize he’s a part of me no matter what happens. times like that make me smile and then i shake my head and hope his annoying habits aren’t the only thing i copied from him 🙂

      do you have any habits, good or bad, that you got from your dad? did you make it through the day alright?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have his temper. Unfortunately. I take more after my mum though. I’m not sure how I feel about that one.
        The day was hard, but I got through it. I’m told that time makes it easier. Thank you for your words.

        Like

      2. good to know you’re getting through it all, i can only imagine how hard the day and year has been for you. and rather than trying to say something pithy, i’ll end with these two words instead – you’re welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Mac, this is by far my absolute favorite post I’ve read on your website–and on any website thus far this year. It is truly brilliant. It’s wonderfully heartfelt, ingenious and sparkling with waggish humor.
    I’ve read it twice.
    And now I’m spreading it to a few others who I know will love it just as much as I did.
    Wonderful work. Congratulations. (And terrific sketch by the way!)
    Cheers 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. wow, shelley. first let me say, THANKS, because i don’t take compliments like this lightly. and i’m just gonna say THANKS one more time because you read the post twice, and because i don’t take compliments like this well 😉

      p.s. i’ll share the compliment with B.Mac’ too, salut!

      Like

Listen up Mac'

