3 Oscar Worthy Minimalist Movie Posters and 3 Lessons from the Movies

Okay, the Oscars don’t have a category for best movie poster, but if they did these might have a chance. Except, you know, they haven’t been seen in a theater for a couple of years or even decades.

Still they’re definitely worth sharing, enjoy.

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, you might have seen here before. But you probably didn’t see this post from 2812 Photography. He was the guest host for the cover art challenge where I first shared the image.

I enjoy the movie because it’s long. It lets you settle in with a scotch in one hand, and in the other hand another scotch. How many movies let you unwind like that nowadays.

misery minimalist movie poster design
You have to be cruel to be kind.

Misery is the kind of movie that loves company. But where most people focus on the violence, it’s Kathy Bates’ cherub face and sweet nature that jars me.

Don’t get me wrong I love a good hobbling as much as the next guy. In fact, I learned the word, hobbling, from this movie. Hey hobbling looks a lot like hobbit. And it sounds like a decent start to a tongue twister too, “My hobby’s hobbling hobbits….”

Fatal Attraction Minimalist movie poster
She’s a woman with killer taste.

Fatal Attraction wasn’t my first choice, but I couldn’t figure out anything as strong for Body Heat. I love that movie. Body Heat’s the kind of movie that makes you wanna sweat. But Fatal Attraction’s the kind of movie that asks, what kind of woman is that. Well it’s pretty clear to me, she’s a woman with killer taste.

If you want to see larger versions of these images and more, visit my portfolio.

***

Since I’m talking movies, here are 3 movies I love and the lessons they taught me.

arsenic and old lace movie poster
© en.wikipedia.org

Arsenic and Old Lace is the black and white movie that taught me black and white movies aren’t boring and dull. They can be just as dark, twisted, and funny as anything in the theater — if not more so.

casablanca movie poster
© en.wikipedia.org

And it’s the reason I eventually saw Casablanca with an open mind. I knew the ending going into it, so I didn’t expect to be impressed. I was wrong. This is the movie that taught me, the story matters. Ending’s are fine but a good story is timeless.

Lastly, and much more current, is the movie that got me back into Indian Cinema (from the comfort of my living room), Chennai Express. I learned to hate Indian movies as a child. I didn’t understand the language, they were way too long, and the songs — don’t get me started on the songs.

chennai express poster
© alidinno.com

But Chennai Express taught me to love Indian movies. I still don’t understand the language, but now Indian movies can understand and relate to me.

They’re still too long but now I can hit pause or resume with ease. And the songs — don’t get me started on the songs because now I won’t stop singing. I may not understand what I’m saying but that’s true with English songs too.

***

Since I like to keep posts short, I’ll wrap up with this point. Chennai Express (streaming on Netflix) and Arsenic and Old Lace share a lot of common ground.

Both play with standard tropes, dutiful grandson in the former and kindly old ladies in the latter, both are nonsensical at times, and Shah Rukh Khan might just be the Indian Cary Grant. No one looks like they’re having more fun in a movie than him.

In case you’ve forgotten, the Oscars are this Sunday. But more importantly now it’s your turn to tell me about a movie, or movies, you love and why.

original poster images by I.M.
© Chic Prune 2015

8 thoughts on “3 Oscar Worthy Minimalist Movie Posters and 3 Lessons from the Movies

  1. Arsenic and Old Lace for the win! It’s one of my favorites! I LOVE this movie and every one of the cast members! Another favorite of mine is Stranger Than Fiction with Will Ferrell of all people. I’m not a fan of his usually but this movie was awesome after a slow beginning. And it felt so original, as opposed to the same old same old that Hollywood puts out these days. Never watched any Indian film, not sure I could stand not understanding what they’re saying.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. stranger than fiction is good too or too good. i’m not a will ferrell fan either, but there’s a joke about flour and flower that i still remember to this day. so simple and understated made it all the more amusing.

      yeah not understanding a movie makes enjoying it harder but it might increase your reading speed 😉

      sorry for the late reply, life happened.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. \My favourite films are my childhood favourites. I’m not a big film-watcher these days (lacking in time) but I do love the old Disney animated films I used to watch. The Lion King was a big one, Pocahontas, Mulan, all the Toy Story’s… I could go on. I love the musical elements to them. I used to drive my family nuts singing the songs over and over and over…. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i’m a bit earlier in the disney chain, aladin, the little mermaid, and beauty and the beast are my favorites. the musical elements are my favorite parts too. usually the darker the better, unfortunately i missed the real version of aladdin’s opening song about chopping off your hand because i was sent to get the popcorn.

      p.s. if i did it right, i edited your comment, ‘buts’ now reads ‘nuts’ hope that’s ok 🙂

      Like

  3. I’ve never seen any of the three posters, but I have seen each of the films – and boy are they perfect! What an art, to find the ideal way to sum up a film and intrigue potential movie goers.
    And thanks for the new tip on the Indian film. I’m a big fan of the ones I’ve seen thus far – either in English or with subtitles. Bollywood is smart and contagious. Love it, Mac!

    Like

    1. well, that’s a massive compliment shelley! if you like the three that i did here, you might enjoy this one i did for tinker, tailor, soldier, spy.

      and if you need more indian movie recommendations just let me know. i did a little binging on netflix earlier this year (well more like late last year, over the christmas holidays) and found a variety of movies that show the range bollywood’s offering. so pass the popcorn and press play!

      Like

Listen up Mac'

