Behind the Misadventure

behind the misadventure

Was it good for you? Hey an interactive story has to satisfy both the writer and the reader otherwise it’s not fun. Here are a few thoughts on The Lizard Drops, an interactive short story.

To get started I did two things, think about what I wanted to do and forget everything else. My three goals were to: write according to a schedule, pray people would read, and hope some of them would vote.

The nice thing about an interactive story is the reader response changes, opens it up in different ways. The first poll overwhelmingly decided Ash should go outside. I was in the minority and wanted to take Sir back inside. But I knew that first choice didn’t have a safe answer – there was no escape for Ash. The response also helped me feel I wasn’t alone. Sappy, I know, but true.

Finding a strong opening to each post was key. I hope it unlocked something for you. It helped me focus and relax which made writing fun, editing too.

Feedback is great. Phoenix Grey suggested adding a reminder of the previous poll to each new post – a great idea. Testing out different ways, the simplest option was the best option. Check it out in tomorrow’s post.

The polls and reader survey helped a lot. People liked the length of each part. Posts are about 500 words, give or take non story related notes. The hard part’s not losing readers along the way, or getting lost in their blog reader. A sticky post with links to each part helps. Next time I’ll add short teaser posts to keep interest up.

Tomorrow, I’ll post all four pieces together in Choose Your Own Misadventure Vol. 1. Check it out and let me know if the pagination feature makes it feel more like a story with pages or if it feels like a lot of unnecessary clicking.

That’s it for now. I’ll update this post if I forgot anything or something else comes to mind. If you want to know more or have a specific question leave a comment or contact me privately.

Here are some helpful links I used to understand polls and get a handle on the interactive concept.

***
Writers, have you done an interactive story? Are you about to do one?
And readers, any advice from the other side of the screen to fellow bloggers?

images by I.M.
© Chic Prune 2015

2 thoughts on “Behind the Misadventure

  1. Interactive stories are certainly a good idea. I really did enjoy yours. I’d be too afraid that no one would vote!

    Thanks for the links though. Always good to have knowledge just in case I decide to take the plunge. 🙂

    Like

    1. i was afraid no one would read/vote either. figured just doing it would be a learning experience and better to fail when no one’s watching 😉

      oh hey i’ve got a few questions about describli i want to run by you, i’ll swing by one of your posts this weekend and drop them there.

      Liked by 1 person

Listen up Mac'

