What’s Behind that Smile?

smile big

Amazon has successfully fostered the idea that a book is a thing of minimal value — it’s a widget.

– Dennis Johnson

Cheap Words, George Packer’s article in The New Yorker, looks at and in Amazon with an amazing amount of detail. But it’s also a tad long.

Books are a compass to navigate the sprawling online retailer’s aspects, good & bad. Like all retailers, Apple to Amazon and beyond, consumers are just dollar signs and numbers. It isn’t bad. It’s business. Or maybe it’s two sides of the same coin.

01100011 01101111 01101110 01110011 01110101 01101101 01100101 01110010 01110011

– ‘consumers’ in binary I.M.

I’m not knocking Amazon, the article does that even handedly. Actually, it’s allowing me to finish The Wire, a goal years in the making. Amazon’s on my mind because gift boxes are still lying around. More on that another time.

But what’s behind that smile may also be a good laugh. This is a 2-for-1 post special y’all! These jokes about Uber, also from The New Yorker, are short and funny.

Uber’s an app that connects you to a total stranger willing to give you a ride for a fee. Crazy, I know right? But, even if that doesn’t sound crazy to you, the jokes are worth a laugh.

My favorites: “UberLetts,” “Ubereavement,” and the beginning lines from “UberEX,”

For those nights when you feel like partying and are also desperately lonely, call an UberEx to get picked up by one of your highest-rated ex-boyfriends!

– Ethan Kuperberg

Talk’s cheap but discussions are priceless. Let me know what part(s) of Cheap Words you find worth savoring.

images by I.M.
© Chic Prune 2015

6 thoughts on “What’s Behind that Smile?

  1. I like the Uber jokes. 🙂

    I agree with the sentiment that consumers being seen as money signs is just business, not necessarily bad, but not good either. I think there’a balance to be struck. A business can make money without treating people like dirt.

    Like

    1. and amazon’s business practices about not sharing any measurable info with it’s business partners sounds so implausible, like something in a mob movie.

      the uber stuff caught be by surprise. i was glad to stumble on it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I tried to slog through the Amazon article but fitting it in between work tasks yesterday was brutal on the comprehension. I bookmarked it though and may finish it later. What I did manage to read was enlightening, I had no idea what all went on behind the curtain! I’m not sure what I think about it yet but it was definitely interesting.

    Like

Listen up Mac'

