Don’t Sweat It

I buy my clothes one size larger, it gives me room to grow. The same goes for my underwear. That too much?

I’m talking about clothes today because I have a relationship with some of mine. That sounds strange, but after 10+ years together it’s also the best way to describe it.

My favorite hoodie and pair of sweat pants have seen better days. Now frayed, threadbare, and even a hole or two it’s time to say, “It’s you, not me.”

I was fresh-faced and carefree when I found the hoodie on sale. We had our awkward moments, like all new relationships. It was too big, I was too small. Overtime it shrank in the dryer and I grew in the waist. Compromise, it’s the only way relationships work.

The sweat pants, now they made me work for it. They were way out of my league, price-wise. I don’t normally go on looks alone, but when I first saw them I just knew. Ya’ know?

Now, I just don’t know. The zipper on my hoodie gets stuck a lot and my sweat pants don’t cinch up tight anymore. It’s time to move on.

We’ll still be friends, hang out occasionally. I won’t even try to replace them, not sure I could should. Plus, it’s time I start going out with something age appropriate.

Anyone know where I can find a casual sport coat or cardigan perhaps?


The opening joke, inspired by these clothes, is the reason I wrote this post. It still makes me laugh. Are you attached to any of your clothes, have they inspired you in any way, or am I the oddball?

images by I.M.
© Chic Prune 2015

13 thoughts on “Don’t Sweat It

  1. There’s this black velvet dress hanging in my closet that I haven’t worn in oh about 18 years. When I was a size small enough to fit into it, I rocked it – probably the first time I ever thought that about my appearance. So even though I can’t wear it now, I hold onto it; probably for the nice memories associated with wearing it so long ago. Nice post Mac; I love the point of view.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not really attached to clothes and easily donate them to Red Cross, if I don’t wear them. I guess this stems from having grown up in a big family with lots of sharing.
    But I do have a relationship with a fleece jacket for a few years, which should have ended already…a bit like yours. Lol

    Like

    1. i eventually donate clothes, but i figure after x number of years somethings are for keeps. being the only boy in my family i didn’t get many hand-me-downs, thankfully! fleece is crazy comfortable, and in jacket form it’s like a warm hug.

      p.s. looking forward to finding out the photo mystery, when do we get the answer?

      Like

  3. I kept some clothes that were several sizes too big for far too long a few years ago, simply because I liked them so much and had good memories attached to them. I finally made the decision to get rid of them. It took some bravery.

    And admitting that makes me feel a little silly. Still, seems I’m in good company. 🙂

    Like

    1. i usually have the habit of getting rid of something only to realize after the fact said item would be perfect for something i’m going to do. good company makes life enjoyable! and at times being silly helps make it bearable.

      Liked by 1 person

Listen up Mac'

