5 Fun Holiday Movies now on Netflix

These movies are great to have on while wrapping presents, drinking coffee, or waiting for family and friends to arrive. They’re especially great when people are running late due to work, traffic, or the ghosts of Christmas past, present, and future.

Plus they’re all streaming on Netflix. I doubt Santa could make it any easier. Here’s the list, in no particular order.

popcorn

1. Love Actually, actually is a good movie but tis very long too. My advice, fast forward through any bits that don’t have Bill Nighy on screen. His character’s struggle to have Britain’s #1 Christmas single is full of humor and wit.

It’s also full of lines only an aged, debauched rock star could believably utter. It’s a winning combination that ends in it’s own touching way which you can see below.

[youtube.com/watch?v=-EuO6OFypLo&w=600&h=385&end=150]

2. Scrooged starring Bill Murray is perhaps my favorite version of the Charles Dickens’ tale. The only better one is Mickey’s, A Christmas Carol.

Bill Murray’s really a good actor, good enough I might do a “best of” list of his movies. One that definitely won’t make the post, Ghostbusters 2. Even as a child, I didn’t like it. But I do like this movie, it’s appropriately dark befitting the original story.

3. The Nightmare Before Christmas, combines Halloween and Christmas, splendidly. That’s probably ’nuff said for most, but it’s the season for sharing.

In general, the music’s charming, characters endearing, and the holiday shenanigans original. The song, “This is Halloween,” is catchy enough to sing year round. There’s even a ghost dog too boot.

4. Plains, Trains, & Automobiles is holiday slapstick at it’s finest. ‘Nuff said!

[youtube.com/watch?v=VWGqGHMO294&w=600&h=385]

5. And finally, Earnest Saves Christmas. This might be an 80’s kick, I admit. But this reminds me of college and good friends. It’s the kind of movie that plays better in big groups. So it’s a great reminder of fun times.

What are your go-to holiday movies?

Indian Macgyver says, Merry Christmas Y’all! Oh and Indian Macgyver’s sister says, While You Were Sleeping, another terrific holiday movie, is also streaming on Netflix. Happy Holidays!

image by pixabay.com
© Chic Prune 2014

6 thoughts on “5 Fun Holiday Movies now on Netflix

  1. I’ve seen Love Actually and Nightmare Before Christmas – the others I haven’t even heard of. Shows my film knowledge huh? I wasn’t a massive fan of Love Actually, but Nightmare Before Christmas I’ve seen a couple of times now. It’s certainly got its moments 🙂 And the songs – how can you not like them?

    Anyway, Merry Christmas. Not sure if I’ve already said it to you, but better twice than not at all, that’s my motto. 🙂 Have a good one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Either you’ve been gone awhile or I follow way too many blogs and I keep missing your posts in my reader! Merry Christmas Mac! Now I’m off to cue up Planes Trains and Automobiles! Plus, your sister is right. While You Were Sleeping is a great holiday movie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Merry Christmas JaneyD! wishing you all the best, but if you’re watching pt&a or wyws things are probably pretty good. i bet i got lost in all the christmas posting…i’m sure there were a lot of posts i missed too. i’ll be catching up on and off for a while probably. but i’m actually looking forward to it, which is nice.

      Like

  3. Can’t get a good enough connection at the beach for Netflix., bu I’ve seen all of these except for Ernest..so I’ll just sit here and test my memory by trying to remember them.. Judy

    Like

Listen up Mac'

