Indian Macgyver Says

sweetest memories

I love my family* and they love me. Better yet, we like each other and that says a lot more. Unfortunately it doesn’t say, “Get Out!” So holidays tend to linger longer than they should. This is bad, because some of our best times are spent in the kitchen.

Still we laugh off some of the extra calories we eat. If only I could blog off the rest. Here are some things overheard and overeaten in the Indian Macgyver kitchen recently and some tasty pics.

– Have you heard of this Heavyfoot or Hairyfoot?
– You mean the Barefoot Contessa?

Though both names would make awesome tv shows. Heavyfoot, the crime solving, no nonsense talking cop with a limp. And Hairyfoot, a hobbit reality show that I would, definitely, tune in for every week. I digress.
 

Sniff This: I made this Dark Chocolate Pecan Pie and it’s great. No joke 🙂 I really do wish y’all could smell how good this pie is but then you would want a piece and I don’t have a clue how that would work. There’s never any leftovers!

Crumbtastic: This is Almond Barfi, a traditional Indian sweet. It’s made with: one part almonds, one part sugar, and one part “I should never have listened to you! The first batch is ruined!” This happens a lot, but it never gets old.
 


Freshly Whipped: This whipped cream is tinged with cinnamon, dashed with vanilla, and generously sugared. Tasters said, “This doesn’t taste right,” and, “Did you add any sugar at all?!” FYI Cinnamon’s a tasty way to help control blood sugar.

Jack and the Brussel Sprout Stalk: I hope it’s clear, this stalk and the sprouts on it are seriously HUGE. Sweets aren’t all we know how to cook 🙂 We grilled these up then quickly sauteed them in olive oil, dried garlic, and red pepper flakes, very tasty.

Well, my kitchen’s closed, for now. So what’s happening in yours?


The Lizard Drops ended on monday. I’ll be doing a wrap-up post next week. There’s still time to make the next misadventure better. Just answer these 5 easy questions in less time than it takes you to answer 6 questions!


*Sadly, the Indian Macgyver family just got smaller. But please, don’t feel bad. Our love’s as big as ever. Thanks

images by I.M.
© Chic Prune 2014

10 thoughts on “Indian Macgyver Says

    1. it’s the best. a crispy crust, nothing soggy here, and chopped pecans so you can actually cut right through it. i could go on but like i just said on your post, the stores are closing and my cupboards are as bare as vic’s!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. We’re certainly looking forward to having sprouts in our household. They’re a Christmas thing, a tradition, one we enjoy, even though I know a lot of people don’t. The chocolate pecan pie and whipped cream… mmmm…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yeah a lot of people don’t like them. when i say “i’m going to eat…” or “i did eat brussel sprouts” they literally ask, “why?” it’s so weird. but then it’s probably just as weird we only started eating them a couple of years ago. got any more christmas food traditions?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hmm, Christmas food traditions… Well, I don’t eat Christmas pudding, (shudder), so trifle’s usually a must for dessert, and there are certain chocolates I have to have. And call me a big child if you like, but an advent calendar in the run-up to Christmas is something I do pretty much every year. 🙂 Also, pork pie and mince pies. All this talk of Christmas food is making me want Christmas food…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. yeah well the way you talk, even i’m getting hungry! though mince pies are kind of a mystery to me. i’ve always wondered this with advent calendars, do they come filled with chocolate or can you buy empty ones and fill them with your favorite type of chocolate? if you want to wait till after you finish eating to reply i totally understand 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Okay, I’ve just realised I never replied here. So here I am. Better late than never, right? (I wasn’t eating all this time, I promise.)

    So, advent calendars. You can buy them pre-filled with chocolate, toys, all sorts of things, or you can buy empty ones and put stuff in them yourself. Me, I always go with the pre-filled ones. I like not knowing what’s inside. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Listen up Mac'

