Read All About It

ace reporter
 
Ace reporter Indian Macgyver here, bringing you an awesome interview with Krista. She’s an editor at WordPress with great information to share. Even, my editor in chief, J. Jonah Patel says, “It’s good. Now get out!” Let’s begin.

Q. What’s a normal day like as an editor at WordPress?

A. Being an editor at WordPress is the best job I’ve ever had. Here’s how a typical day goes for me: I’m up early and usually online by 7:30 a.m. I check my ongoing list of to-dos and follow-ups and from that list, I choose five things I want to get done and then tackle them.

The earliest part of the day is quiet time for me; most of my team are later risers and are in following time zones so I try to get my most challenging tasks done by the time they come online. I might start off writing a draft for a new article for Hot off the Press, our major news site, or The Daily Post. I spend time each day reading blog posts to find pieces to share on Freshly Pressed. As a team lead, I’ll also spend time checking with my team members, helping them troubleshoot things, chatting about how to approach a particular problem or project.

Q. Approximately how many blog posts do you read in a day, week, month?

A. It varies. In any given day I probably read 50 blog posts as I search for posts to share on Freshly Pressed. So doing the math, that’s about 250 a week, or a thousand a month. That might seem like a lot, though there are 1 million posts written each day on WordPress.com. Working Freshly Pressed is addictive; when I’m getting ready to move to a different project or call it a day, the voice in my head is whispering: Just one more. The next post is probably amazing. It can be hard to stop reading.

Q. Is there anything you would change about the blogging experience?

A. If I were queen of the planet, I would make sure that every single child had their own blog. Blogging is a great way to learn a bit about technology and to learn how to write. Brainstorming, composition, revision, and editing can all be done on a blog. Writing is thinking, and so by teaching kids to write, you’re also teaching them to think carefully and critically — two vitally important skills to have in your kit bag.

Q. Your WordPress tagline says you’re, “a reader, writer, editor.” If you could only read, write, or edit one topic what would it be?

A. Tough question! I love all kinds of writing from epic fantasy, to biography, to fiction, and non-fiction. If someone put a gun to my head and said I had to choose one, I’d probably pick creative non-fiction. Some of my favorite pieces are personal essays.

Q. If others are interested in following you where can they find you online?

A. I’m @kristastevens on Twitter and I do most of my blogging over at my notebook site, http://kristameryl.wordpress.com.

A big thank you to Krista for taking time to answer these questions! Hearing from the people behind WordPress makes it feel a lot less technical and little more human.

On a personal note, this week’s writing challenge was a lot of fun and I look forward to interviewing others. Comments are welcome and you can now Follow my blog with Bloglovin.

– I.M., ace reporter.

image pixabay.com
© Chic Prune 2014

5 thoughts on “Read All About It

  1. It remind me in the beggining of “The Simpsons” reporter! I really enjoyed the interview, are you planning to do more?(If you also enjoyed it I think you should!)

    Like

Listen up Mac'

